More pictures

I haven’t been inspired to write this week. That’s partly because I haven’t seen Mom since Monday. I went to visit before lunch, and she was in the exercise class. I picked out an outfit for her to wear after her Tuesday shower and then sat outside the exercise classroom, listening to the instructor. I walked with Mom from the class to the dining room. It was time for lunch. She had removed the red jacket I had put on her Friday and replaced it with her favorite thick fleece jacket that has something resembling a Navajo pattern on it in different shades of brown. She loves that jacket. I think my sister gave it to her years ago. She said she wanted to go out sometime soon. I told her I’d take her to lunch this week. Tomorrow is Friday, and I am planning to take her to lunch then. It has been an unusually busy week at work, which has been good for me. Unfortunately, for reasons I don’t totally understand, the less I have to do, the less I seem to get done. Perhaps that’s normal, but it drives me crazy to let time slip away like that. I have been less tired. I have cut the Lunesta pills in half this week, which has helped reduce the side effects. Though I think they have a cumulative effect even with the lower dose, and each day I feel just a little more foggy. I am about to try a new drug. I still have to pick it up at my pharmacy. Something recommended by my therapist that my primary care doctor approved.

So, in lieu of stories about Mom, I have scanned a few pictures. Some I came across in her apartment, some in albums at our house. Just snapshots from a life. I’m so glad to have pictures. I don’t always trust my own memory about growing up and even having an adult relationship with Mom.

These two are Mom in one of her best roles: as grandma to my two nieces.

Mom having ice cream with Julia. I'm guessing this was Cape Cod, or perhaps Block Island, R.I. My sister would know for sure.

Mom having ice cream with Julia. I'm guessing this was Cape Cod, or perhaps Block Island, R.I. My sister would know for sure.

Mom with Lily in New York. I don't know if you can see Mom has a walrus beanie baby on her right shoulder. And I am just noticing the turquoise ring she is wearing. I found that recently and kept it. I wore it today, in fact.

Mom with Lily in New York. I don't know if you can see Mom has a walrus beanie baby on her right shoulder. And I am just noticing the turquoise ring she is wearing. I found that recently and kept it. I wore it today, in fact.

Mom several years ago, before she got sick. We spent a few Christmases at my sister’s house with her. She also went there on her own sometimes for Christmas.

Mom and her famous laugh, on a Christmas morning in New York. Probably eight years ago or so.

Mom and her famous laugh, on a Christmas morning in New York. Probably eight years ago or so.

And Mom a few weeks ago – Christmas sweater and fleece pants, in June. This was several days after she had had her hair done – so her hair is sort of puffy.

This shows how she picks at her chin. She does that pretty much constantly.

This shows how she picks at her chin. She does that pretty much constantly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

