Table manners

I had a good visit with Mom this week. It was about 1:30 in the afternoon by the time I arrived, but Mom was still working on her lunch. Her tray was pretty messy, with spilled juice and general disarray, plus some various pieces of food on the table. And she had a few blobs on her shirt, but it wasn’t too bad – though she should have had a bib on, frankly. Sometimes getting everyone suited up for lunch before trays arrive just doesn’t work out, I guess.

Mom was still eating, using her fingers to pick up the last bits of food on her plate. She slurped some high-calorie hot cereal out of a bowl. It looks like cream of wheat, and I guess it’s a replacement for the ice cream she was getting at every meal for awhile to add calories. She then picked up her fork to try to eat her fruit cup. I took a little video. I thought she looked good – peaceful face, relatively clean hair, and very pleasant mood. I tried to coax her to smile, but she didn’t quite get there. A male resident I didn’t recognize was sitting across from Mom, to my right. He can be heard speaking in the background. I don’t think he cared much for me. He wasn’t hostile, just apparently a little annoyed that I was at his table while he was still eating.

After she finished eating and an aide cleaned up around us, I clipped Mom’s fingernails. Their rapid growth is one suggestion to me that she is fairly healthy, outside this terrible illness, of course. I haven’t heard any more about her skin infection, and she had long sleeves on so I couldn’t see her arms. Eventually Mr. Beard came along to visit, and I gave him my chair. I put my face in front of Mom’s to give her a kiss goodbye – but I gave her a little start instead, and just pecked her on the cheek quickly and left.

4 comments so far

  1. Jenniferjayhawk on

    Hi Emily,

    Thank you for your comments on my blog. I’m glad you enjoyed the video. I agree it looks like it was filmed in someone’s living room. Of course to me it makes it that much more awesome!

    I love the video of your Mom. I was wondering if she could still interact with you, pretty amazing that she can in her own way. I noticed when I was home my Mom having a lot of trouble with silverware and all of her clothes are horribly stained.

    You just have to move on and watch 90’s video’s of men dancing with fans 🙂 It’s still hard to watch though.

  2. momsbrain on

    Hi, Jennifer – Thank YOU for the comment. I just had a great visit with Mom that I should write about. Kind of like old times, lots of laughing and silliness after multiple sleepy visits. Gotta take the good moments that come along, especially as their numbers dwindle… My mom is a mess during and after every meal and it is kind of a bummer. But then again, I’m glad she can still figure out how to get most of the food in her mouth. Sigh.

  3. Jeff on

    EMILY – I liked that the man at the table wanted to have you kicked out. i don’t know why, but that tickled me. It seems like he still has some remnants of personality running around, and a point of view about his table preferences.

  4. momsbrain on

    Hi, Jeff! I thought it was funny, too, and yes, his personality was shining through. Heck, I was disrupting his meal, after all.


Leave a Reply

