Lower doses

My cell phone rang at about 6 p.m. The Alz center was calling. A call during the day could be about anything – financial business, an event notice, a question. But getting a call in the evening made me nervous. It seemed to me that it had to be bad news about Mom’s health or behavior.

It was Ben calling. Someone I don’t know. Possibly a nurse, maybe an aide.

He reported that the doctor had visited today and decided to lower Mom’s anti-psychotic medication. He’s cutting the dose in half. After seven days, if Mom does well, it will be lowered a little bit more. This decision was made because Mom has been very pleasant. “Is Mom OK right now?” I said. “Oh, yes,” he said. “So, you’re just letting me know about this?” I asked. Yep, that was it. He was just letting me know.

I believe I also wrote here that Mom is off generic Wellbutrin, a second antidepressant that she started taking around the time she was getting sick, but before any of us knew it. Mom briefly saw a psychiatrist at that time, but I don’t think it went well. He prescribed the Wellbutrin, but Mom always talked about him in an unflattering way, as if she had deep suspicion about him. I’m sure now that that was the disease talking. But I didn’t know it at the time and I really didn’t investigate. I thought she knew what she was doing. Poor Mom. She probably felt so scared at that time.

But now she is doing great. And can go off of another medication. And the doctor considers her pleasant. Which she is. I like this news.

2 comments so far

  1. plettahar on

    yay! it’s always good to be considered pleasant by one’s doctor.

  2. momsbrain on

    Yes, one hopes to accomplish that. Mom isn’t always successful, and neither am I!


Leave a Reply

