‘Have a good happy’

Monday passed with no word from Mom. And I did not call her. I felt so rotten on Sunday that I just didn’t want to risk a repeat of those emotions. I skipped exercise, which probably wasn’t a terrific idea. But I was so tired. I had napped Sunday and went to bed fairly early. And I was still really tired on Monday. So I went home and cooked whole grain pasta with sugar snap peas, onions, black olives and feta. Not my best creation taste-wise, but cooking and eating it made me feel like I was being responsible for my health in a different way since I was missing a workout. And now I have lunches for a few days, too.

I called Mom this morning, probably about an hour after she finished breakfast. She sounded fairly chipper, not like she had been sleeping. She started talking about the women sitting in the lobby – perhaps she had been with them for awhile, or perhaps she was considering joining them. “What about my hair?” she asked. I am glad that appointment is near, so we can stop talking about it. The cat seems to be fine, she said. I decided to ask about the ants, something Mom hasn’t seemed to be very interested in. I asked if she could see many of them. She said she had looked around and saw only a few. I told her I had put traps down in her bedroom and she said she had seen those. I asked if the housekeeper came to clean yesterday. “I don’t know,” she said. She never seems to remember that, even though the housekeeper is so nice and it is a regular weekly event.

The conversation was going pretty well and that was a relief. We started to move toward a goodbye and I said, “Well, I just wanted to check in and see how you’re doing.” She said, “I’m trying to think if there’s anything I don’t like. So far, everything is OK.” This struck me as funny, because I would have described Mom at one time as someone who always had something to complain about. I confess I can have those same tendencies myself. So when she can’t complain, things are really going well. As we signed off, she said, “Have a good happy.” Sometimes, we joke when we say goodbye and she’ll say, “Merry Christmas,” and I’ll say “Happy New Year” no matter what time of year it is. She may have been trying that today. So I said, “Happy New Year,” and we laughed and hung up.

2 comments so far

  1. IcedLatte on

    I love it! “Have a good happy”. Delightful. You deserved that, and not so much a whack in the head with from a hatchback. Here’s to a few good happies….

  2. momsbrain on

    Thanks, Dr. Latte! I could use lots of happies – but couldn’t we all??


Leave a Reply

