Archive for April 3rd, 2012|Daily archive page

A good grandma

My sister’s daughters were born three years apart, on April 1 and April 4. Mom liked being a grandma, and I think she was good at it. She visited the girls regularly – they lived in suburban New York City for most of their youth before my sister’s family moved to California. Because it is their birthday week, and they are now adults, I looked through some old photos of Mom and her grandchildren to post on the blog.

I visited Mom today, too. I wanted to check on her after a nurse called yesterday to tell me about two new bruises – one on her butt cheek and one on her calf. We both assumed she plopped somewhere too hard, or bumped into a couch or chair. Today, she was lying on a couch, with Mr. R nearby in a chair. Another female resident was hovering around, sometimes saying things. Mom uttered some nonsense words, and this woman said, “Don’t call me a bitch.” I may have interrupted some encounter they were all having before I got there. I was bending over Mom and rubbing her arm, and she said, “Get away. Get away!” So I wandered away for a little while, and then came back with a chair so I was at her level and not standing over her. I rubbed her neck and arm, and then just sat next to her for a short while. She didn’t say much. I wondered if she was annoyed about something, and I suppose she could have been in pain from her two big bruises. I told her it was Julia and Lily’s birthday week and that I had been thinking a lot about them and how much fun she had being a grandma. And she looked at me and said, “That’s very interesting.” Maybe those names meant something to her today.

This is my favorite of the photos I found today. I think Mom looks very pretty. And the girls are super cute as always. I'm not sure how old they were.

Mom with the girls at their home, before dinner at the kitchen table. They look like three pals, don't they?

Mom would swim with the girls in pools and in the ocean, even trying to play in the waves. I don't know where this pool was - could have been a club near home or at a vacation spot. I think Mom's face shows a glimpse of her youth here.

Mom was also Grandma to Cookie, our first dog, and then to Bino and Spencer, our current dogs. This photo must be at least 10 years old. Cookie died 8 1/2 years ago, at age 4, of lymphoma. I remembered that Cookie's birthday was also this week - today, in fact, April 3, 1999. I hope Julia and Lily don't mind that I included Cookie here... Mom loved her, too, but not as much as she loved them.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers